贸易战

保护主义并不新鲜。自古以来,各国政府和公司都在搞保护主义,以支持自己的利益。新的是其最近的表现形式的全球规模。

由于生活水平的侵蚀,保护主义在整个西方世界兴起,引发了一场贸易战,有可能严重损害全球经济。这场战争的主要参与者是世界上仅有的两个真正的超级大国--中国和美国(US)。

从前,这对美国来说是一场容易获胜的战争,当时中国卖,美国买。随着中国的崛起,这种动态发生了变化,现在中国也是美国商品和服务的一个重要市场;这给特朗普总统带来了一个棘手的问题。

虽然美国和中国是主要参与者,但其他国家也深受影响。德国的出口导向型经济正在挣扎,而法国已承诺对向法国消费者出售服务的外国数字巨头实施数字税。在英国,政府与其他欧洲伙伴一起,对中国钢铁征收反倾销关税,以支撑失败的国内钢铁行业。芬兰是俄罗斯和美国之间日益冷淡的关系的接受者,保护主义不是什么新鲜事。自古以来,各国政府和公司一直在参与保护主义,以支持自己的利益。新的是它最近表现出来的全球规模。由于生活水平的下降,保护主义在整个西方世界兴起,引发了一场贸易战,有可能严重损害全球经济。这场战争的主要参与者是世界上仅有的两个真正的超级大国--中国和美国(US)。

从前,这对美国来说是一场容易获胜的战争,当时中国卖,美国买。随着中国的崛起,这种动态发生了变化,现在中国也是美国商品和服务的一个重要市场;这给特朗普总统带来了一个棘手的问题。

虽然美国和中国是主要参与者,但其他国家也深受影响。德国的出口导向型经济正在挣扎,而法国已承诺对向法国消费者出售服务的外国数字巨头实施数字税。在英国,政府与其他欧洲伙伴一起,对中国钢铁征收反倾销关税,以支撑失败的国内钢铁行业。在俄罗斯吞并克里米亚和欧盟对俄罗斯的制裁之后,芬兰处于俄罗斯和欧盟(EU)之间日益冰冷的关系中,俄罗斯推出了对食品进口的全面禁运,使芬兰这样的国家处于受影响的地位。

经济保护主义的主要武器是关税,通常适用于可能威胁到国内生产商的进口产品。它们也可以被积极地用来对出口国造成伤害。

例如,在美国立法者的语言中,301条款的关税适用于中国商品,而232条款的关税适用于铝和钢铁。美国对一些中国产品征收的关税,已经上升到25%,促使中国征收报复性关税,受影响的人不顾一切地寻找避免额外费用的方法。

在这个充满挑战的时代,公司需要国际贸易法专家的帮助,以找到缓解这些问题的方法。对产品进行重新分类是一个复杂的过程,但如果能降低进口成本,这可能是值得的。交换原产国以避免目标关税是另一种策略,但这确实需要在其他国家寻找新的供应商,并对供应链进行颠覆--这不是一个可以轻易做出的决定。某些中国出口商已经采取了 "加工厂 "策略,在墨西哥等国家组装货物,然后越过美国边境发货。

提出排除请求突然成为国际贸易律师的大生意,因为以前不征收关税的客户突然发现自己被征收了。

在许多情况下,人们对匆忙实施的关税和税收是否真的合法存在很大疑问。例如,法国的数字税可能违反了欧盟(EU)法律,因为它与欧盟已经控制的其他形式的税收过于相似。

很明显,全球贸易战正在给大量的企业,无论是大企业还是小企业,带来巨大的头痛。如果他们要在这种环境中继续进行贸易并从中获利,他们将需要贸易专家的帮助,以帮助他们减轻任何损失。下面的专题是设在欧盟、美国和中国的六位国际贸易法专家对当前保护主义形势的讨论。

捐助顾问

Trade Wars

Global Protectionism as a Threat to Cross-Border Transactions

Protectionism is nothing new. Governments and companies have been engaging in it for time immemorial in order to support their own interests. What is new, is the global scale of its most recent manifestation.

The rise of protectionism across the western world, caused by an erosion of living standards, has sparked a trade war which threatens to seriously damage the global economy. The main players in this war are the world’s only two genuine superpowers – China and the United States (US).

Once upon a time, this would have been an easy war for the US to win, when China sold and the US bought. As China has risen, this dynamic has changed and now China is also an important market for US goods and services; which creates a thorny problem for President Trump.

While the US and China are the major players, other countries have also been deeply affected. Germany’s export-oriented economy is struggling, while France has pledged to implement a digital tax on foreign digital giants selling services to French consumers. In the United Kingdom, the government, along with other European partners, have levied anti-dumping tariffs on Chinese steel, in an effort to prop up the failing domestic steel industries. Finland was on the receiving end of increasingly frosty relations between Russia and the Protectionism is nothing new. Governments and companies have been engaging in it for time immemorial in order to support their own interests. What is new, is the global scale of its most recent manifestation. The rise of protectionism across the western world, caused by an erosion of living standards, has sparked a trade war which threatens to seriously damage the global economy. The main players in this war are the world’s only two genuine superpowers – China and the United States (US).

Once upon a time, this would have been an easy war for the US to win, when China sold and the US bought. As China has risen, this dynamic has changed and now China is also an important market for US goods and services; which creates a thorny problem for President Trump.

While the US and China are the major players, other countries have also been deeply affected. Germany’s export-oriented economy is struggling, while France has pledged to implement a digital tax on foreign digital giants selling services to French consumers. In the United Kingdom, the government, along with other European partners, have levied anti-dumping tariffs on Chinese steel, in an effort to prop up the failing domestic steel industries. Finland was on the receiving end of increasingly frosty relations between Russia and the European Union (EU), following the annexation of Crimea and EU sanctions against Russia, have put countries like Finland on the receiving end, when Russia rolled out a sweeping embargo on food imports.

The main weapon of economic protectionism is the tariff, which is usually applied to imports that might threaten domestic producers. They can also be used aggressively to cause harm to an exporting country.

In US legislator language, for example, Section 301 tariffs apply to Chinese goods, while Section 232 tariffs apply to aluminium and steel. US tariffs on some Chinese products, have risen as high as 25 per cent, prompting retaliatory tariffs from China and a desperate scramble from those affected to find ways to avoid the extra charges.

In these challenging times, companies require the help of experts in international trade law to find ways to mitigate these problems. Reclassifying products is a complex process, but it can be worthwhile if it reduces import costs. Swapping the country of origin to avoid targeted tariffs is another strategy, but that does require the sourcing of new suppliers in other countries and an upheaval of the supply chain – not a decision to be taken lightly. Certain Chinese exporters have resorted to ‘maquiladora’ tactics, assembling goods in countries such as Mexico for onward shipment across the US border.

The filing of exclusion requests has suddenly become big businesses for international trade lawyers, as clients who were previously tariff free suddenly find themselves hit with levies.

In many cases, there is considerable doubt around whether hastily implemented tariffs and taxes are actually legal. France’s digital tax, for example, may be in contravention of European Union (EU) law because it is too similar to other forms of tax already controlled by the EU.

It is clear that the global trade war is creating significant headaches for a large number of businesses, both large and small. If they are to continue trading profitably in this environment, they will need to the help of trade experts to help them mitigate any damage. The following feature is a discussion between six international trade law experts based in the European Union, US and China about the current landscape of protectionism.