零售业启示录

我们的虚拟系列出版物将网络的一些成员聚集在一起,讨论一个与实践领域相关的不同主题。参与者分享他们的专业知识,并从他们所处的管辖区提供独特的视角。

这一举措突出了我们对IR全球社区内合作的重视,以及对有效知识共享的需求。

每次讨论的特点是每个辖区只有一名代表,主题由相关工作组的指导委员会选择。其目的是提供对专业从业人员确定的挑战和机会的洞察力。

我们坚信,全球网络的力量来自于分享思想和专业知识,使我们的成员能够更好地满足客户的国际需求。

零售业的启示是真实的,并且正在向你附近的高街走来,尽管它有可能已经露面。据大多数行业分析师称,随着世界进入互联网时代,只有最具创新精神的企业才能生存,实体零售业的日子正在迅速走到尽头。

这些数字是可怕的。投资公司瑞银最近对美国零售业的一份报告表明,自2017年以来,美国零售商已经关闭了15000多家商店,包括1470家Radio Shack商店,735家玩具反斗城商店和700家GNC商店。该报告估计,到2026年,还将有75000家销售服装、电子产品和家具的商店关闭。报告预测,到那时,美国所有零售业的25%将在网上进行。西尔斯控股公司的困境鲜明地说明了这个问题。在2006年的高峰期,该公司在美国和加拿大拥有3,843家凯马特和西尔斯商店,雇用了312,000名员工。在2018年经历了漫长而复杂的第11章破产程序后,现在美国只有425家商店,雇用了约45000名员工。

瑞银的报告接着说,2018年美国家庭平均在网上花费5200美元,比五年前增长了近50%。这不仅仅是美国的一个现象。在这份报告中,我们讨论了比利时钻石行业的困境,加拿大的家居用品行业和英国的一些高调的行政部门。启示录的主要原因是传统零售模式无力应对在线零售。像亚马逊这样的在线巨头已经非常迅速地改变了成本、库存和交付方面的规则,使现有的企业极难竞争。那些幸存下来的企业,已经开发了自己强大的在线销售平台,接受了社会媒体营销,并在实体店创造了更好的用户体验。

对于那些还没有适应的企业来说,陷入财务困境所带来的复杂性是非常大的,特别是对于大型多品牌零售商来说。债务可能需要重组,与房东重新谈判租约,商店也需要合并。对员工、养老基金、供应商和债权人的连带影响也是巨大的,需要谨慎处理。

在下面的报告中,我们听到了玩具反斗城的全球倒闭,以及数百家商店同时停止营业给业主带来的困扰。我们还听说了英国的阿卡迪亚集团和公司自愿安排(CVA)计划,这些计划导致了业主租金的急剧下降。

遭遇世界末日恶果的零售商如果要避免清算,就需要值得信赖的顾问的帮助,在复杂的破产过程中摸索。从商业模式到债务偿还,许多层面的重组是至关重要的,以拯救这些企业免于被遗忘。

请继续阅读来自世界各地的六位IR Global破产专家的观点,他们在各自的管辖范围内为零售企业提供服务。

捐助顾问

  • 大卫-福斯特
    Insolvency , Real Estate and Trusts & Estates in England

    大卫-福斯特

    silverDavid is a silver member
    Partner, Moore Barlow LLP
  • Yves-Marie Ravet
    破产 债务人

    Yves-Marie Ravet

    silverYves-Marie is a silver member
  • James Conomos
    商业诉讼 诉讼和破产 澳大利亚

    James Conomos

    silverJames is a silver member
    Founder and Principal Partner, JCL Law Partners
  • Philippe Termote
    破产 比利时

    Philippe Termote

    bronzePhilippe is a bronze member
    Partner, Agio Legal

The Retail Apocalypse

The retail apocalypse is real and is coming to a high street near you!

Our Virtual Series publications bring together a number of the network’s members to discuss a different practice area-related topic. The participants share their expertise and offer a unique perspective from the jurisdiction they operate in.

This initiative highlights the emphasis we place on collaboration within the IR Global community and the need for effective knowledge sharing.

Each discussion features just one representative per jurisdiction, with the subject matter chosen by the steering committee of the relevant working group. The goal is to provide insight into challenges and opportunities identified by specialist practitioners.

We firmly believe the power of a global network comes from sharing ideas and expertise, enabling our members to better serve their clients’ international needs.

The retail apocalypse is real and is coming to a high street near you, although the chances are it has already shown its face. The days of bricks and mortar retailing are rapidly coming to a close, according to most industry analysts, as the world enters an internet age where only the most innovative survive.

The numbers are terrifying. A recent report into the US retail sector by investment firm UBS, suggests that US retailers have closed more than 15,000 stores since 2017, including 1,470 Radio Shack outlets, 735 Toys R Us shops and 700 GNC stores. The report estimates that a further 75,000 stores selling clothing, electronics and furniture will close by 2026. By then, it forecasts that 25 per cent of all US retail sales will be made online. The plight of Sears Holdings starkly illustrates this issue. At its peak in 2006, the firm had 3,843 Kmart and Sears stores across the United States and Canada, employing 312,000 staff. Following a long, complex Chapter 11 bankruptcy process in 2018, there are now just 425 stores in the US, employing approximately 45,000 staff.

The UBS report goes on to say that the average US household spent USD5,200 online in 2018, up almost 50 per cent from five years ago. This is not just a phenomenon in the United States. In this report, we discuss the plight of the diamond industry in Belgium, the home furnishings sector in Canada and some high profile administrations in the United Kingdom. The major reason for the apocalypse is the inability of the traditional retail model to cope with online retail. Online behemoths like Amazon have very quickly changed the rules around cost, inventory and delivery making it extremely difficult for incumbent businesses to compete. Those that survive, have developed their own powerful online sales platforms, embraced social media marketing and created better user experiences in physical stores.

For those that haven’t adapted, the complexities inherent in falling into financial distress are significant, particularly for large multi-brand retailers. Debt may need to be restructured, leases renegotiated with landlords and stores consolidated. The knock-on effects for staff, pension funds, suppliers and creditors are also huge, requiring careful handling.

In the following report we hear about the global collapse of Toys R US and the distress caused to landlords, when hundreds of outlets ceased trading at the same time. We also hear about the Arcadia group in the UK and the Company Voluntary Arrangement (CVA) schemes which have resulted in steep reductions in rent for landlords.

Retailers experiencing the ill-effects of the apocalypse require the help of trusted advisors to navigate through the complexities of insolvency, if they are to avoid liquidation. Restructuring on many levels is crucial, from business models to debt repayments to save these businesses from oblivion.

Read on for the views of six IR Global insolvency experts from across the world, acting for retail businesses in their respective jurisdictions.