商标和版权

当美国最高法院最近裁定Booking.com可以对其域名进行商标注册时,这一决定对全世界的网络企业来说是一个游戏规则的改变。

法院以8比1的裁决决定,在通用词上添加".com "组合不再受美国商标法的限制。美国专利和商标局最初拒绝了Booking.com的注册,认为通用名称没有资格获得商标保护。然而,这被法院推翻了,法院强调消费者并不把booking.com看作是一个通用词,而是一个提供在线酒店预订的品牌。判决后,Booking.com表示,该判决是一个很好的例子,说明法律制度如何发展以反映数字时代的复杂性,并预示着该案的成功结束是任何投资建立全球数字品牌的品牌所有者的胜利。

尽管该裁决将对远在美国境外的商标产生巨大影响,但全球知识产权立法仍然是由相互关联的双边和多边协议组成的拼凑,这些协议与不同司法管辖区的国家法律协同工作。

在世界各地,诉讼团队一直忙于处理涉及专利、版权和商标的知识产权纠纷。随着数字化的飞速发展,不同司法管辖区的企业主和立法者要求对其品牌名称提供更多的保护,这种法律障碍将继续存在。

如今,全球贸易和创新经常导致源自世界多个国家的产品开发、制造和销售,从而要求知识产权保护和执法工作具有多辖区的性质。协调在世界各国的申请是很重要的,这不仅关系到产品的分销和销售地点,也关系到产品的生产地点。

因此,随着企业、产品和服务的数字化转型,近年来知识产权已变得极为复杂,特别是对那些在这些多个司法管辖区经营的企业而言。

好消息是,大多数政府都了解知识产权在帮助支撑和影响传统和数字经济的所有部门方面所发挥的这一关键作用。即使是以前的流氓国家现在也意识到,知识产权提供的框架远远超出了创造力和创新,有助于决定国家经济、国际贸易关系、竞争和税收等。知识产权法对成功的经济运作至关重要,并在国家财富中发挥着巨大作用。

世界知识产权组织(WIPO)目前正忙于处理有关在不断变化的世界中什么是知识产权的大量国际问题,并对各国政府和企业发挥着至关重要的作用,帮助各国围绕将成为全球经济核心的立法更加协调一致。

不幸的是,最近的Covid-19大流行病是多管辖区知识产权法的一个挫折,因为各国政府以更多的保护主义观点示意从全球机构撤退。但法律专家认为,Covid-19之后的未来是安全的,因为在全球封锁之前,所有的要素都已经到位,可以对知识产权采取渐进的方法。此外,许多人认为,在全球经济增长停滞的挑战下,知识产权法现在比以往任何时候都更有必要帮助提供创新的动力。

对于未来的全球繁荣来说,知识产权和创新之间的联系从未如此明显,强有力的立法将是确保国际贸易能够恢复健康增长的根本。许多人认为,流行病后的知识产权法律秩序将建立在合作和复原力的基础上,以确保法律有助于而不是阻碍解决全球挑战。

在以下几页中,IR Global的成员坦诚地写下了他们辖区内的知识产权法,以及立法如何变化以确保国家和企业能够适应不断变化的趋势。他们讨论了为什么国际企业和国家为了全球经济的成功发展,防止侵犯知识产权的行为比以往任何时候都更加重要。

捐助顾问

  • Bosco de Gispert Segura
    公司法 西班牙

    Bosco de Gispert Segura

    goldBosco is a gold member
    Partner, BPV
  • Timothy J. Kelly
    知识产权 - 商标和版权 纽约 知识产权 - 商标和版权 新泽西

    Timothy J. Kelly

    silverTimothy J. is a silver member
  • Margret Knitter 法学硕士
    知识产权 - 商标和版权 德国

    Margret Knitter 法学硕士

    silverMargret is a silver member
  • Elizabeth S. Dipchand
    特许经营和分销法 加拿大 - 东部

    Elizabeth S. Dipchand

    bronzeElizabeth S. is a bronze member
    Partner, Dipchand LLP

Trademark & Copyright

A Jurisdictional Guide

When the US Supreme Court recently ruled that Booking.com could trademark its domain name, the decision was a game changer for online businesses the world over.

The court decided by an 8-1 ruling that adding a “.com” combination to a generic word is no longer restricted under US trademark law. The US Patent and Trademark Office had initially denied the registration by Booking.com, arguing generic names were ineligible for trademark protection. However, this was overturned by the court which stressed consumers did not view booking.com as a generic term but as a brand offering online hotel reservations. Following the ruling, Booking.com said the decision was a good example of how the legal system can evolve to reflect the complexities of the digital age, heralding the successful conclusion of the case as a victory for any brand owner who has invested to build a global, digital brand.

Although the ruling will have a huge impact on trademarks far beyond the borders of the US, global intellectual property legislation remains a patchwork of interlinked bilateral and multilateral agreements that work in tandem with national laws in different jurisdictions.

Across the world litigation teams are forever busy working on intellectual property disputes involving patents, copyrights and trademarks. And with the breakneck pace of digitisation as business owners and legislators in diverse jurisdictions demand more protection for their brand names, such legal hurdles are set to continue.

These days global trade and innovation frequently result in product development, manufacturing, and sales originating in multiple countries around the world, thereby requiring that intellectual property protection and enforcement efforts be multi-jurisdictional in nature. Coordinating the filing of applications in countries around the world is important, not only for where products are to be distributed and sold, but also where they will be manufactured.

Consequently, with the digital transformation of businesses, products and services, intellectual property has become hugely complex in recent years, particularly for those operating in these multiple jurisdictions.

The good news is that most governments understand this critical role intellectual property plays in helping to underpin and influence all sectors of the traditional and digital economy. Even former rogue states now realise that intellectual property provides a framework that goes far beyond creativity and innovation, helping to determine national economies, international trading relations, competition and taxes etc. Intellectual property law is essential for the functioning of successful economies and plays a huge part in the wealth of nations.

The World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) is currently inundated with a plethora of international issues around what constitutes intellectual property in a changing world and plays a crucial role for governments and businesses, helping nations become more aligned around legislation that will sit at the heart of the global economy.

Unfortunately, the recent Covid-19 pandemic was a setback for multijurisdictional intellectual property law as governments signalled a retreat from global institutions with a more protectionist outlook. But legal experts believe that a post-Covid-19 future is secure as all the elements were already in place for progressive approaches to intellectual property prior to the global lockdown. Moreover, many believe intellectual property law is now more essential than ever to help provide the motor for innovation amid the challenges of stalled global economic growth.

The link between intellectual property and innovation have never been more evident for future global prosperity and robust legislation will be fundamental to ensuring international trade is able to return to a healthy growth. Many believe the post-pandemic intellectual property legal order will be built on collaboration and resilience to ensure the law helps rather than hinders solutions to global challenges.

In the following pages members of IR Global write candidly about intellectual property law in their jurisdictions and how legislation is changing to ensure countries and businesses are able to adapt to the changing trends. They discuss why it is more important than ever for international businesses and nations to prevent infringements on intellectual property for the successful development of the global economy.