保罗-博尔--喜欢以不同方式做事的张扬的创业者

保罗-比尔最早的野心之一是成为一名儿童电视节目主持人。对于一个在企业服务领域工作的人来说,这可能听起来很不寻常,但前提是你从未见过他。企业 "并不是一个你会附在保罗身上的真正的词。从他的着装感觉,到他的生活理念,他对以不同方式做事感到自豪。这就是为什么他的客户喜欢他。

保罗在为他父亲的企业工作时积累了国际会计服务的经验。自20世纪80年代以来,这家家族公司一直设在伦敦附近的布拉克内尔,但保罗认为它需要一个伦敦市中心的营销办公室来帮助扩大客户群。他向父亲提出了这个想法,父亲同意这是个好主意。2008年的全球金融危机很快使这一雄心壮志化为泡影,但保罗开始在总办事处工作,同时住在伦敦市中心。随着他父亲健康状况的恶化,他开始承担更多的责任,直到他成为业务的主要力量。

"最终,我的父亲决定出售企业,而我认为这也是一个理想的机会,可以继续前进。

他说:"最终,我父亲决定出售企业,我认为这也是一个理想的机会,可以继续前进。生意被卖掉了,我父亲也退休了。新的业主让大家继续工作了一段时间,直到他们关闭了办公室,把客户的工作转移到海外。就在那时,我创办了保罗-比尔有限公司。我对市场营销感兴趣,并接受了技术和搜索引擎优化。当时这些技术还处于起步阶段,但我们很快就在伦敦的国际会计师事务所中排名第一。"

保罗从15岁起就一直沉浸在企业服务领域,对于领导这样一个企业来说,他还比较年轻。他的丰富经验使他能够作为客户值得信赖的顾问,负责一系列的服务,从开设银行账户到建立工资系统。他通常成为客户英国业务的公司秘书,允许他在没有英国董事的情况下代表客户签署法律文件。

保罗补充说。"我们常常是客户的第一站,并充当他们的咨询板。我坚信,这就是为什么客户在离开目前的工作岗位并继续工作后还会回来找我们。我们最近接了一个大客户,因为我们在五年前为有关个人在以前的企业中提供支持。他们回来了,因为他们记得我们所做的工作以及我们是如何支持他们的。

"由于我们的声誉,我能够走进世界各地的几个英国领事馆,并以正确的理由得到认可。保罗-比尔在英国政府的供应商名单上,为来英国的公司提供支持。"经营自己的生意,使保罗在工作的同时可以放纵自己对旅行的热爱。他对英国冬天的厌恶意味着他经常每年花三个月时间在新西兰和澳大利亚进行业务发展旅行。这一切听起来像是一种完美的生活方式,但走到这个位置并不容易。

保罗患有焦虑症,这与他繁忙的公司日程安排有关。他努力监测他的工作/生活平衡,以处理这个问题,塑造他的工作周以管理压力。

他说:"我已经学会了使用整体疗法和改变生活方式来控制它,但这是一个相当大的挑战和需要克服的障碍。当你开始自己的事业时,没有任何指南书可以帮助你。我身后有一个很棒的团队,他们完全理解这一点,并在那里支持我。他们都是专家,在他们自己的权利上有很高的资格,无论是资格还是经验。有时他们必须介入,而我则退后。"

保罗还仔细管理他的生活方式和饮食,以尽量减少病情的影响。

"我住在伦敦西部的奇斯威克,那里比伦敦市中心更轻松,有更多的绿色空间。我以前也是个咖啡瘾者,但自2018年圣诞节以来,我就没有碰过咖啡。我非常想念它,但采取某些步骤来整理焦虑,意味着咖啡必须离开。"

保罗的哲学之一是建立一个强大的业务,为他工作。他认为,能够决定自己业务的下一步战略行动是自营职业的强大动力。他说:"有很多令人头疼的事情,因为你必须始终优先考虑客户的需求,然而,这也让我能够自由地旅行和生活在我希望的地方。每当我计划旅行时,我都会考虑我们是否有客户、认真的潜在客户或其他转介来源。只有这样我才会去旅行。"就个人而言,保罗喜欢把文化和旅行结合起来,经常把商务和娱乐结合起来。他最喜欢的城市之一是美国东海岸的波士顿,比起纽约的喧嚣,他更喜欢那里。他在新西兰度过的时间也与个人原因有关,因为他在那里有亲密的家人。

"新西兰的文化与英国完全不同,当然,新西兰的风景也绝对令人惊叹"。

他补充说。"我喜欢去波士顿,在纽约市和波士顿之间乘坐火车的感觉绝对很好。新西兰的文化与英国完全不同,当然,新西兰的风景也绝对迷人。给我半点时间,我想我可以很高兴地生活在这两个地方,这取决于每年的时间。"

作为他心理健康制度的一部分,保罗花时间在健身房,也参加比克拉姆瑜伽课程。花90分钟在高温房间里练习瑜伽是保罗焦虑管理的一个组成部分,使他能够更有效地完成他的工作。

将潜在的弱点变成优势是保罗成功的关键。对心理健康等问题的开放使他能够更有效地与客户接触,并使保罗能够创造适合他的生活方式,同时使他能够实现他的商业目标。甚至他那受色盲影响的艳丽着装也已成为一种声明,成为保罗-比尔品牌的一个组成部分。

保罗对其业务的热情,加上经验和专业知识的支持,使保罗-比尔有限公司成长为一个强大的、国际知名的公司。你可以相信保罗-比尔在未来一段时间内会成为企业会计服务行业的一个名字,然而,如果他改变主意,我们认为他将成为一个优秀的儿童电视节目主持人。

捐助顾问

Member Spotlight: Paul Beare – The flamboyant entrepeneur who likes to do things differently

Paul founded Paul Beare Ltd having worked in a previous accountancy firm, following his involvement in a successful merger and acquisition in 2014.

With an extensive support network of international providers that Paul has built up over the years, clients, and potential UK in-bound start-ups will regularly approach him for UK and international expansion support. He is referred by many clients as a their Trusted Advisor.

One of Paul Beare’s earliest ambitions was to become a children’s TV presenter. This might sound unusual for a man operating in the world of corporate services, but only if you’ve never met him. ‘Corporate’ isn’t really a word you would attach to Paul. From his dress sense, to his life philosophy, he is proud to do things differently. And that is why his clients love him.

Paul developed his experience of international accountancy services working for his father’s business. The family firm had been based in Bracknell, near London, since the 1980s, but Paul believed it required a central London marketing office to help grow the client base. He pitched the idea to his father, who agreed it was a good idea. The global financial crisis of 2008 soon put paid to that ambition, but Paul began working at the main office, while living in central London. As his father’s health declined, he began to take on more responsibility, until he became the main force behind the business.

“Eventually, my father decided to sell the business, and I saw it as an ideal opportunity to move on as well “

He says: “Eventually, my father decided to sell the business, and I saw it as an ideal opportunity to move on as well. The business was sold and my father retired. The new owners kept everyone on for a while, until they shut the office and moved the client work overseas. That’s when I started Paul Beare Limited. I was interested in marketing and embraced technology and search engine optimisation. The techniques were in their infancy then, but we were quickly ranking number one for international accountants in London.”

Paul has been immersed in the corporate services sector since he was 15 and is still relatively young to be heading up such a business. His vast experience allows him to act as a trusted advisor to clients, taking care of a range of services, from opening a bank account to setting up a payroll system. He usually becomes the Company Secretary of his clients’ UK business, allowing him to sign legal documentation on their behalf in the absence of a UK-based director.

Paul adds: “We’re often the first port of call and act as a sounding board. I firmly believe that’s why clients will come back to us when they’ve left their current employment and moved on. We recently picked up a large client because we supported the individual concerned five years ago in a former business. They came back because they remembered the work that we did and how we supported them.

“Because of our reputation, I am able to walk into several British Consulates around the world and be recognised for the right reasons. Paul Beare is on a provider list with the British Government for supporting companies coming to the UK.” Running his own business, allows Paul to indulge his love of travel while working. His aversion to the British winter means he often spends three months a year in New Zealand and Australia on business development trips. This all sounds like a perfect lifestyle, but getting to this position hasn’t been easy.

Paul suffers from anxiety, which is linked to his busy corporate schedule. He works hard to monitor his work/life balance to deal with this, moulding his working week to manage stress.

He says: “I have learnt to control it using holistic therapies and lifestyle changes, but it’s been quite a challenge and a hurdle to overcome. There are no guide books for that when you start your own business. I’ve got a wonderful team behind me that totally understands this and are there to support me. They are all specialist people, highly qualified in their own right, whether by qualification or by experience. Sometimes they just have to step in and I step back.”

Paul also carefully manages his lifestyle and diet to minimise the effects of the condition.

“I live in Chiswick, West London, which is a bit more relaxed than Central London, with more green spaces. I also used to be one heck of a coffee addict, but I haven’t touched coffee since Christmas 2018. I miss it terribly, but taking certain steps to sort the anxiety out, meant the coffee had to go.”

One of Paul’s philosophies is to build a strong business that works for him. He cites the ability to decide the next strategic move for his business as a strong motivator to self-employment. He says: “There are plenty of headaches because you must always prioritise a client’s needs, however it also allows me the freedom to travel and live wherever I wish. Whenever I plan a trip I consider whether we have clients, serious potential clients or else a referral source. Only then do I make the trip.” On a personal level, Paul loves to combine culture with travel, often teaming business with pleasure. One of his favourite cities is Boston on the US East Coast, which he prefers to the hustle of New York. The time he spends in New Zealand is also linked to personal reasons, since he has close family out there.

“New Zealand is just a totally different culture than the UK and, of course, the scenery is absolutely stunning.”

He adds: “I love going to Boston and the train ride between New York City and Boston is absolutely beautiful. New Zealand is just a totally different culture than the UK and, of course, the scenery is absolutely stunning. Given half a heartbeat I think I could quite happily live in either location, depending on the time of year.”

As part of his mental health regime, Paul spends time in the gym and also takes Bikram yoga classes. Spending 90 minutes practising yoga in a hot room is an integral part of anxiety management for Paul, allowing him to perform his job more effectively.

Turning potential weaknesses to strengths is key to Paul’s success. Opening up about issues such as mental health has allowed him to engage more effectively with clients and has empowered Paul to create the lifestyle that suits him, while allowing him to deliver on his business goals. Even his flamboyant dress sense, influenced by colour blindness, has become something of a statement and an integral part of the Paul Beare brand.

Paul’s passion for his business, backed by experience and expertise has allowed Paul Beare Limited to grow into a strong, internationally-renowned firm. You’d bank on Paul Beare being a name in the corporate accounting services industry for some time to come, however, if he ever has a change of heart, we think he’d make an excellent children’s TV presenter.